Skip to main content


Hayward school board president elected to CA School Board Association's Delegate Assembly
Posted 4/17/18

Hayward, CA—Dr. Annette Walker, Hayward school board president, will represent Alameda County as a delegate for the California School Board Association (CSBA). She joins ten other delegates, including fellow trustee Mr. William McGee, to represent California’ s seventh region.

CSBA is a nonprofit education association representing elected officials who govern public school districts and county offices of education. With a membership of nearly 1,000 educational agencies statewide, CSBA brings together school governing boards, and administrators from districts and county offices of education to advocate for policies that advance the education and well-being of the state’s more than six million school-age children.

Members elect representatives from 21 geographic regions to the Delegate Assembly, which is made up of approximately 280 delegates and the board of directors. The Delegate Assembly is a vital link in the association’s governance structure and sets the general policy direction for the association.

Dr. Walker was elected to the Delegate Assembly on March 30, 2018 and will serve a two-year term from April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2020. “I am grateful to serve, and eager to help guide relevant policy trends and issues of importance to our region," said Dr. Walker. For the first time in the board’s history, two Hayward Unified School District trustees will serve as delegates simultaneously. “The Hayward school board's representation at CSBA’s Delegate Assembly—and its unwavering advocacy goals to further advance public education—will bring a powerful local voice to this statewide organization,” added Walker. Delegates are elected by CSBA member boards in the region that the delegate is elected to represent.