Skip to main content

Welcome to Induction!

The VISION of the Hayward Unified School District Induction Program is to provide continuity with the credential preparation program to encourage growth and promote habits of reflective and effective teaching practices. The Hayward Induction Program strives to achieve equity in education and to support and create conditions which retain Candidates as they transition into the teaching profession.

Mission Statement: The Hayward Unified School District Induction Program mission is to support Candidates in demonstrating growth and to reflect on their practice, collaborate with others in the professional community and seek opportunities to grow professionally. Candidates are mentored to establish and maintain a safe, inclusive and equitable learning environment that will foster global citizenship in a changing society.

Admission/Enrollment Procedures: At the time of employment, the district Credential Technician will assist you with enrolling in the Induction Program by completing an HR Intake form for Induction. A thorough evaluation of your credential status by the Credential Technician will be provided to all teachers at the point of hire regarding eligibility for the Hayward Teacher Induction Program. It is the beginning teacher's responsibility to furnish a copy of his/her Preliminary Credential or letter of issuance from the university stating completion of a Preliminary Credential program to the Credential Technician. All teachers holding a Preliminary Credential, General Education or Education Specialist, are eligible for the Induction Program and will be contacted by an Induction team member in order to set up a one on one enrollment and advisement meeting. At this meeting, teachers will submit a fully completed application and a Memorandum of Understanding. Items that will be reviewed include their Preliminary Credential or verification of completion of Year 1 (if a Year 2 transfer Candidate), renewal codes and a potential Mentor match based on credential type and/or authorization. This Mentor match will be made within 30 days of enrollment in the HUSD Teacher Induction Program. Candidates will also be advised of the dates for the mandatory Induction Orientation Workshop to be attended by both the Candidate and Mentor so that they may begin their collaboration and create goals for the Individual Learning Plan (ILP) within 60 days of enrollment.

2 Year Teacher Induction Outline

Contacts:

Phoebe Williams
Program Coordinator
phwilliams@husd.us
ext. 72749

Monica Johnson-Rock
Director of Curriculum & Instruction
mjohnson-rock@husd.us
ext.72555

Aurora Sweet
Director of Certificated Personnel
asweet@husd.us
ext.72570

Anna Padgett
Induction Program Team Member
apadgett@husd.us
ext. 72508

Joel Tebbs
Induction Program Team Member
jtebbs@husd.us
ext. 72532

Angelica Alamillo-Perez
Induction Program Team Member
alperez@husd.us
ext. 72783

Michelle Dickson
Office Specialist
mdickson@husd.us
ext. 72804

Debra Forrest
Special Ed Liaison, Progam Specialist
dforrest@husd.us
ext. 72575

Annette Higares

Credential Technician (G-N)
ahigares@husd.us
ext. 72690

Marisol Landeros

Credential Technician (O-Z)
malanderos@husd.us
ext. 72649

 

Marie Salta
Credential Technician (A-F)
msalta@husd.us
ext. 72709

 

Teacher Induction Advisory Board

 

24411 Amador Street
Hayward, CA 94540-5000
510-784-2600